IMG_4620

Merry (very) Late Christmas!  Sorry I’ve been MIA for the past week.  The holidays just get a little crazy for us.  They usually consist of a lot of food, a lot of driving, a lot of presents and a lot of family time.  None of which I am complaining about, of course (expect for the driving thing, if that went away, I wouldn’t cry about it)!  We had a busy, yet much less stressful holiday than Thanksgiving.  There’s less people and less of a rush for Christmas and that’s why I love it so much.  I hope everyone else had a wonderful holiday!

I debated posting this recipe because it’s really nothing special, but I left my camera at my parents’ house and so therefore can’t post about anything else until I go get it.  And because of that, I decided this recipe was worth posting!  It’s so easy that it almost seems silly to write about it, so I don’t really have a whole lot to say.  I thought maybe people would appreciate an appetizer post since there are many parties coming up for New Years (dang, I should have posted this sooner so you guys could bring this to all those damn ugly sweater parties!).  Currently, we are still debating on what to do for our New Years.  For some reason we have terrible luck with New Years so I’m really not going to bother putting pressure on it.  Honestly, with how much we have had going on lately, I wouldn’t hate being at home with the pups and cuddling (and falling asleep) with my hubby on the couch.  We’ll see what happens…

IMG_4623

Ok, so this dip requires 6 ingredients… I know, I know, it says FIVE Layer Taco Dip, but forgive me, you need SIX ingredients.  You need a can of refried beans, sour cream, taco seasoning, cheese, tomatoes and scallions.  Yep!  That’s it!  And it’s as simple as spreading the beans on a platter, mixing the sour cream and taco seasoning and spreading that over the beans and then topping with shredded cheese, diced tomatoes and chopped scallions.  So simple, yet SO.FREAKING.GOOD.  You can add as little or as much sour cream/taco seasoning as you want (I went light as Brad isn’t a sour cream man) and you can even add mashed avocados as well (never tried it but thought I’d share the idea).  You can add salsa too!  Oh the options are endless.  Well, maybe not endless, but sort of endless.

So bring this dip (don’t forget the chips!) to any party, whether it’s for New Years, for a birthday or really… for a party in your own house on a Sunday that involves sitting and watching football in your pajamas and falling asleep on a couch under a blanket with a dog.  Wait… you guys don’t call that a party??  Oh… nevermind then.  Whatever, you get the idea.  Just make this and eat it and you’ll be very happy!

IMG_4625

Oh and two things to end on:  1) The world didn’t end so that is super exciting and 2) We got a blizzard here in Indy and it was pretty much awesome… except for the roads, the roads were not awesome.  But it was pretty fun and really hilarious getting to watch Cash see and play in snow for the first time!  Gosh I love having dogs!  Ok… I just wanted to talk about that stuff.  I’m done now.

photoSomehow this is the only photo I have of the blizzard.  I have about 5 videos of Cash playing in the snow, but no photos of the hour long driveway clearing or Etta running around or our trip to Lowe’s to get supplies for a project or anything fun like that.  Oh well.  You get the idea that there’s a lot of snow!

 

Wait.  I forgot… Happy New Year!!!

5 Layer Taco Dip
My mom has made this for years, so it comes from her
I have no idea how much this serves, it lasted for 2 days for Brad and I though!

1 can of refried beans of your choice (I always use the vegetarian ones)
1-2 cups of sour cream (depending on how much you want to use)
1 packet of low sodium taco seasoning
2-4oz shredded cheddar cheese
1-2 finely diced tomatoes
2-3 scallions, finely chopped

Serve with tortilla chips

Ok… so this is really something that you have to use the amounts based on your preferences.  Spread the refried beans on the bottom of a pie plate, serving platter or any kind of dish you want.  Mix your sour cream and taco seasoning (I used about 1 cup of sour cream and half a packet of taco seasoning.  Taste test as you add the seasoning and be sure to do a little bit at a time!).  Spread that over the beans.  Sprinkle the cheese over that (again, as much or as little as you want) and top with the diced tomatoes and chopped scallions!  Adjust quantities as you wish, it won’t hurt my feelings, I promise!  Enjoy!

