IMG_4617

Well, I figured that since the world is going to end on Friday, I might as well squeeze in some posts so that everyone has some quality options for what to make for their last meal.  I kid, I kid… the world isn’t ACTUALLY going to end… I hope not anyway, I have a lot of stuff that I still want to do!

IMG_4612

Now that we have established my stance on the Maya calendar apocalypse the world is ending on Friday stuff… Let’s talk CHILI!  Yay!!!  I have shared with you an excellent vegan chili recipe, but while this one still doesn’t have meat, it isn’t quite vegan.  Only because there is beef broth in it (you could sub vegetable broth or water to make it vegan though!).  Yea, I got really creative on this one.

IMG_4610

Anywho… this is a spicy chili.  That will happen when you add 2 jalapenos, a green pepper and a poblano pepper to it.  Oh and two packets of chili seasoning.  However, it has incredible flavor.  Roasting the vegetables brought out this wonderful smoky charred flavor and it really brought out the spiciness of the peppers, but also some of the sweetness.  Mmm it was just really good.

IMG_4611

I also added a fair share of beans to this chili.  Which shouldn’t be that surprising considering I absolutely LOVE beans.  You can use as many or as little as you want (but keep in mind, the beans are the main part of this chili, so use at the bare minimum 2 cans).  You can use black beans, pinto beans, kidney beans, red beans, cannelini beans… the list goes on!  I had black, red and pintos in the pantry, so that’s what I used.  If you wanted to, you could add a pound of ground beef to this to sub out some of the beans… I actually just thought of that.  As always, this is definitely a recipe you can easily adapt to your liking!

IMG_4613

Well, you could make this as your last meal for sure!  It’d be a good one to end on.  Better than what we will have.  I forgot the world was ending on Friday when I made my meal plans and grocery list for the week, so we’ll be eating black bean and rice burritos.  Obviously, not a bad choice… steak and lobster might have been a better way to out though!  Haha!

IMG_4614

Ok… I’m done talking about the world ending.  I promise.

Spicy Roasted Vegetable and Bean Chili
Adapted straight from my head. 
Makes 6-8 servings depending on how big your servings are

1 tablespoon olive oil
5 stalks of celery, chopped
1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped
2 jalapenos
1 large green pepper
1 large poblano pepper
1-1 1/2 cups frozen corn
1- 8oz can of tomato sauce
1- 14oz can of petite diced tomatoes
2-3 cups of beef broth (depending on how thick or soupy you like your chili)
3 cans of beans, drained and rinsed (again, I used black, pinto and red beans)
2 packets of chili seasoning (I use the reduced sodium ones)

Ok… Move one of your racks in your oven to the top and turn your broiler on high.  Line a cookie sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray.  Place your peppers (I cut my green pepper in half so it would be easier to broil) on the cookie sheet and place under the broiler until the peppers get really charred, turning them a couple times to get all sides nice and black.  Once the are charred and they are soft, pull them out of the oven and place in a plastic ziploc bag and set aside.  Put your corn on the cookie sheet and place under the broiler for a few minutes, tossing the corn so it chars evenly.  Once that is done, pull it out and just set the pan aside.

While the peppers are in the ziploc bag (hopefully not melting the bag like mine almost did since I bought the store brand of bags rather than the actual quality ziploc brand), put a large pot on the stove on medium heat.  Pour the olive oil in there and once that is hot, add the onion and celery.  Cook, stirring frequently until they are tender. Add the corn.

At this point, remove the peppers from the bag and rub off the skins.  Chop the peppers (removing the stems and seeds) and add to the pot.  Toss in the chili seasoning, the tomato sauce, the diced tomatoes and some of the beef broth.  Don’t add all of it in case you want your chili on the thicker side.  Stir that all together and then add your beans.

Simmer, covered, for a good thirty minutes.  Add a pinch of salt, if needed, as well as more beef broth, also if needed.  Simmer for another 10 minutes.

Top with mounds of cheese, a lot of saltines and maybe even a dollop of sour cream.  And ENJOY it!!!

