IMG_4592

Woah.  Prepare to be amazed.  These chicken tacos are crazy good and even crazier easy.  I promise.

Usually when we eat chicken tacos, they end up being more like chicken fajitas because we grill the chicken and a bunch of vegetables.  But last week, I really had a craving for chicken tacos, like what you get from Mexican restaurants.  However, I had been feeling creative and decided to try to make my own recipe.

IMG_4584

And these were the finished product.  I kid you not, all you need is chicken, salsa and taco seasoning… and of course your taco toppings.  You simply throw the chicken, salsa and seasoning in the Crock-Pot with a little water, set it on low and cook it all day (or if you are like me and start this at 2 in the afternoon, I would suggest you crank it to High).

IMG_4588

The chicken comes out juicy and tender and full of flavor.  You can make them as spicy (use hot salsa or add some hot sauce) or as mild as you want them (use mild salsa and mild taco seasoning).  You can also really jazz them up by adding peppers, onion, maybe some canned green chiles… but I opted for the basic stuff first.  When I make these next (which I 110% will), I might add some sliced green peppers and sliced yellow onion just for a little something extra.

These tacos are perfect for a busy day or evening or for a day that you don’t really feel like going crazy in the kitchen.  They are also fantastic left over and make great leftover nachos too!  Enjoy!

IMG_4591

Crock-Pot Chicken Tacos
Makes about 4 servings

For the Chicken:
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 1/2 cup of your favorite salsa (I find that Pace Picante sauce is the best salsa when cooking!)
1 package of taco seasoning ( I use the reduced sodium ones)
Couple dashes of your favorite hot sauce (say… Cholula)
1/2 cup water

For the Tacos:
Taco shells (Soft or Crunchy)
Shredded Cheddar cheese
Diced tomatoes
Shredded lettuce
Sour Cream
Hot Sauce
Any other toppings you like!

Spray the inside of your Crock-Pot with cooking spray (this makes it easier to wash dishes!).  Place chicken breasts in the Crock-Pot along with the salsa, taco seasoning, hot sauce (if you are using it), and water.  Stir everything together.  Turn Crock-Pot on either Low (if you are doing this in the morning) or High (if you are doing this in the afternoon).

About 1 hour before you are ready to eat, shred the chicken with 2 forks and stir together with the sauce.  Note: I removed some of the sauce before I shredded the chicken because it was easier to shred the chicken without a bunch of sauce flying everywhere.  Also, that way I could control how much sauce was in my chicken in the end.  You definitely don’t have to do this though.

Once the chicken is shredded, stir everything together and turn Crock-Pot to Low (if not already) and let it cook until you are ready to eat!  Assemble your tacos and eat away!!

