You know what sucks?  Other than it being Sunday already, or that we started training for Tough Mudder this week, or the fact that we had to rake leaves this morning and our yard is already covered in more…

It sucks that it gets dark SO early now.  It’s really not that bad for me exactly because I get out of work around noon everyday so I get to enjoy daylight while others are stuck at work sitting in front of computers in an office… it’s one of the benefits of working 4am-noon everyday.  However, it sucks that it gets dark so early because it ruins all my photos I take of our dinners!  I start dinner while it’s still plenty light out, but it gets dark so quickly that by the time I’m finished, I have to take photos with our kitchen lights.

Oh the misery.  How will I ever survive??

Anywho… last week I was feeling under the weather.  I had to go home from work at 5am on Thursday but luckily felt decently well enough to go in on Friday.  However, my stomach was still in recovery mode for many days (and I think it still isn’t quite at normal yet).  I thought I was ok but everything I ate upset my stomach.  Brad claims it was “Beth-didn’t-get-a-flu-shot-itis” (if you saw the way I am about needles, you wouldn’t suggest I get one).  I think I just ate something weird or something along those lines.  Whatever it was, it sucked.  So I decided I was going to make chicken and noodles.  But it turns out this recipe is more like a thick chicken noodle soup than anything.

No matter what you want to call it, it’s amazing.  And it will make you instantly feel less sick than you did before you ate it.  You’ll feel cured (for a few hours anyway).  This soup literally makes you feel so much better with the first bite.  It’s a perfect comfort food for a day that you are feeling under the weather, but also for any day that the actual weather isn’t so lovely.  It makes for a great Sunday night meal that will give you plenty of leftovers come Monday for lunch and even Monday night for dinner (for two people).

It’s moderate on the labor scale.  It’s not as easy as warming up a can of Campbell’s Chicken Noodle soup, but it’s worth the work.  You can easily gather up enough energy and you’ll be so happy you did.  I loosely adapted this recipe from Pioneer Woman (link is below), but I had to do some major tweaking as I was in no mood for deboning and boiling my own chicken.  Instead I used a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and quality store bought chicken stock.  I also finally bought some of those chicken bouillon cubes to get even more chicken flavor.  Sometimes I just don’t think chicken broth or stock and actual chicken gives it enough umph.  I was also able to finally find Reames Homestyle Egg Noodles which is something I have searched for at least 3 times at our grocery store but have never found.  Which, come to find out, is because they are on the very top shelf in the freezer section and pushed pretty far back on the shelf which makes it nearly impossible for a 5’2″ person like me to find.  What are those grocery people thinking!?

In the end I was REALLY happy with the results.  I felt that my tweaks worked out really well.  The soup had a perfect amount of flavor to it, it was thick but not too thick and in my opinion it had just enough veggies in it.  I’m telling you, this is going to be my go-to chicken noodle soup recipe.  It’s better than any version of that soup I have ever tried to make.  It will forever be at the top of my list of things to eat when I’m feeling crappy.  And I am 100% sure it will be up there on your list too!

Chicken and Noodles OR Chicken Noodle Soup
Loosely adapted from Pioneer Woman
Makes about 6-8 servings (for us it was closer to 8)

1/4 yellow onion, chopped
2 whole carrots, peeled and chopped
2 whole celery stalks of celery, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
Meat of 1 whole rotisserie chicken, shredded or cubed
2- 32oz containers of chicken stock
2-3 chicken bouillon cubes
Salt and Pepper
1- 16oz package of Reame’s Frozen Homestyle Egg Noodles
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

First, shred or cube your chicken and set aside.  Heat the olive oil in large soup pot over medium heat.  Add the carrots, onion and celery.  Saute for a few minutes until the veggies start to get tender.  Pour in the chicken stock.  Bring to a boil and add 2 of the chicken bouillon cubes (reserve the 3rd for later in case you want it, I like to start with less, you can always add more but you can’t take away!).  Reduce the heat to medium-low, add the chicken and simmer for about 10 minutes.  Add the noodles and simmer for another 15-20 minutes until the noodle are tender.  Pull out about 1/2 cup of the chicken stock in a measuring cup and add the flour to it.  Stir until the mixture is smooth (add more stock if needed).  Slowly add that to the soup, while stirring.  Let that simmer for a couple minutes until the soup starts to thicken.  Add more flour if desired.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

You can add dried parsley, thyme, turmeric or whatever else you want.  I just didn’t want anything crazy with my stomach being weird.  I didn’t think the soup really needed any of that, but you might!

