Chicken Chia-whaaat??

Chiaquiles.  I don’t know what it means honestly.  Or how to pronounce it for that matter.  I just couldn’t tell ya.  But I can tell you that is it de.li.cious.  And spicy.  And easy.  And just all around awesome.

So I bet you are wondering what this dish actually is.  Well, it’s like a soup.  Sort of.  It’s definitely soup-y.  I’m not exactly sure how to explain it.  It has diced tomatoes, chipotle chiles, garlic, a shredded rotisserie chicken and cilantro.  And then you put it over (or on the side like we did because we didn’t want soggy chips) tortilla chips.  Oh and top it with cheese and sour cream.  And I finally caved and started eating sour cream again.  Yep.  Gained all that weight back after doing Tough Mudder… it’s ok, we’re doing it again in May.  Did I mention that?  Oh, no?  I didn’t?  Oh, well now you know.

Anyway, I have to warn you, if you don’t realize how spicy chipotle chiles in adobo sauce are, you’re in for a spicy treat.  I got carried away and added a smidge more than the recipe called for (which was actually a lot more than a smidge) and decided after I had already added them to the dish, that I should try a bite, only to find myself chugging soy milk to get rid of the burning in my mouth. So I would suggest you start with less and add more as you choose.  They definitely add some great, smokey flavor.  But they add a ton of heat so you just have to be careful.

So… that’s chicken chilaquiles.  It’s an incredibly delicious dish that is perfect for one of those busy weeknights where you just don’t have a ton of time to cook for an hour.  This dish takes a whopping 30 minutes (if that) to make and makes a good 4-6 servings depending on how heavy of eaters you have in the house.  You could definitely build off of this recipe as well, by adding other veggies and say… some beans!!  Yum!  I always want to add beans to everything.  Either way, with additions or without, this meal is just perfect!

Oh… and sorry for the crappy photos.  I made this on a day that it was storming so the light coming in through our windows was pretty much nonexistent.  I tried using what I had and then I just caved and turned the damn lights on.  The food was still good though and that’s really all that counts.

Chicken Chilaquiles
Adapted from Martha Stewart
Serves 4-6

1 tablespoon olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 (28 oz) can petite diced tomatoes
2 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce from one can, finely chopped
1 tablespoon adobo sauce from that can of chiles
Salt and pepper
1 rotisserie chicken, shredded
1/2 cup lightly packed cilantro leaves, coarsely chopped
Tortilla chips, sour cream and shredded cheddar and monterey jack cheese for garnish

Cook garlic in the oil in a large saucepan for a few minutes, being careful not to burn it!

Add the tomatoes, chipotle chiles and adobo sauce, and 1 cup of water.  Stir and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for about 8 minutes, until the sauce starts to ever so slightly thicken.

Add the chicken and cook until heated through.  Remove from heat and add the cilantro.

In bowls, either line the bowl with tortilla chips or spoon the chicken mixture in and then top with tortilla chips.  Sprinkle with shredded cheese and sour cream!  Enjoy!!

