Have you ever eaten something and didn’t know what to do with yourself because it was so good.  So good that you realized half an hour later that you ate a good 4 extra helpings just because it tasted that good.  So good that you were sickeningly full but didn’t regret a single bite because… well… it was that good.

This dish is a prime example of that situation.  I was so full, but I still ate 2 servings (ok, I lied earlier about eating 4) just because I wanted to keep enjoying it.

I’ve never had chicken n’ biscuits before.  Never.  I don’t think so anyway.  But this is pretty similar to chicken pot pie, only with biscuits on it.  And I have definitely had chicken pot pie.  But this is chicken pot pie times 100.  It’s incredible.  It’s chicken and veggies in a deliciously creamy sauce with hints of sage and parsley.  And the biscuits.  Oh god the biscuits.  The biscuits, my friends, have cheese in them.  CHEESE.  And they are flaky and layer-y and fluffy and gooey on the bottom because they bake in the chicken wonderfulness.  This dish is heaven in a bowl.  Seriously.

Warning though.  This isn’t just magically tasty without any work.  You have to devote a good afternoon to working on this dish.  I opted to separate everything out, doing one thing at a time, but you could do a good amount of multitasking and get it done in slightly less time.  However, I had a whole Saturday afternoon to myself so I was in no rush.  But I do think you need to know that it’s just not a “this cooks in 30 mins or less” meal.

But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t make it.  By all means, make this dish.  I mean in.  It’s an incredibly delicious meal that will leave you feeling amazing.  It’s a perfect meal for a cool, fall day.  Oh!  It’d also be perfect for Halloween night!  Oh, I have to remember that!  This is 100% on my must make a million times list!

Chicken n’ Biscuits
Adapted from Eat, Live, Run (instructions are pretty much word for word from her)
Makes 6 servings (from our experience.)

1 quart chicken stock (I used broth and it was just fine)
4 large carrots, peeled and chopped
3 large celery stalks, chopped
1 onion, chopped
3-4 medium sized red potatoes (I used like 5 small ones because I wanted it potato-y)
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (you could technically cheat and use a rotisserie chicken I think, but I would suggest following the recipe)
6 tablespoons butter (yea, it’s a lot, but you do need all of it)
6 tablespoons flour
3 cloves of garlic, peeled smashed with a knife
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
2 teaspoons fresh thyme, chopped
Salt and pepper
*Original recipe calls for 2 cups of chopped mushrooms, but I hate mushrooms so I just added an extra carrot and an extra stalk of celery.  If you choose to add the mushrooms, only use 3 carrots and 2 stalks of celery.

For the biscuits:
1 1/3 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons COLD butter
2 tablespoons COLD shortening
1/3 cup grated cheddar cheese
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup buttermilk (this is what the recipe called for.  I only had half & half on hand, but it worked just fine!)

In a large pot filled with water and the garlic cloves, poach the chicken breasts until cooked through. Drain and set aside to cool.  Once cool, chop into cubes.

In another large pot (I used the one I cooked the chicken breasts in, just emptied the pan and did a quick rinse.  Less dishes this way), bring the chicken broth to a boil. Add the carrots, celery and potatoes and simmer for about 15 minutes, or until veggies are done. Remove veggies with a slotted spoon and reserve broth. Combine chicken and veggies and set aside.

In a dutch oven, melt the butter. Add the onions and saute for about seven minutes, or until they are soft. Add the flour and stir to make a roux. Keep cooking for about five minutes, making sure to scrape the flour from the bottom of the pot so it doesn’t burn. Now, slowly pour in the remaining stock, whisking as you pour. Crank up the heat to high and whisk your heart out for about five minutes as the sauce thickens and boils. Add the thyme, parsley,  salt and pepper. Pour the chicken and veggies into the dutch over (or a casserole dish) and set aside while you make the biscuits. You could also make the sauce earlier in the day and stick it in the fridge until later….just be sure to make the biscuits right before you serve it!

Preheat the oven to 450. In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Cut in butter and shortening and use your fingers to mix until the mixture resembles cornmeal. Stir in the cheese. Break the egg into a measuring cup and add the buttermilk to the egg. Whisk and then pour the mixture into the flour mixture and mix so that you have a relatively smooth ball of dough. On a floured surface, knead the dough four times (FOUR TIMES) and then roll out to 1/2 inch thick. Cut biscuits to desired size (I made 6 biscuits because I didn’t want a massive biscuit per serving).  Place biscuits on top of the filling and brush the tops with egg wash (just one yolk mixed with a little warm water—this gives the biscuits shine) and prick with a fork.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the biscuits are golden and the chicken mixture is bubbling. Serve hot.  And eat till you can’t stand anymore.

