Oh god.  Stop what you are doing, NOW.  You need to read this, then go to the grocery store and then immediately go home and make these freaking things because they are THAT good.  Yes, just trust me.

I have made enchiladas many times before and I might even go as far as saying that they could be one of my specialties because every time I make them, they are all I want to eat for.ever.  I have always made them with chicken, though and since it had been awhile since I had made them and I decided I wanted to do something different this time.  Plus, we needed a meatless meal for the week and, let’s face it, Mexican food is the easiest to make meatless.  When in doubt, sub beans for meat!

Anyway, so I basically used the same recipe that I have used before for my chicken enchiladas, only instead of the chicken I used black beans and pinto beans.  To be honest, you don’t even notice that there is no chicken.  They are still equally filling and filled with equally amazing deliciousness.

These are pretty easy to make, but they do take a little bit of time to chop, saute, assemble and bake, sooo… fair warning.  It can all be done in about an hour, but you need to be pretty focused and… let’s face it… a seasoned professional like me.  No, it’s really not anything complicated, there are just some things you need to do.

Anyway, so I would make this right away if I were you.  It’s cheesy, beany, spicy, corny, Mexicany, vegetabley, and just all around wonderful.  It’s even great on a hot day!  Which seems crazy to turn the oven on, on a hot day, but this dish is so worth heating up the house a few extra degrees!  The best part is that it makes a TON so you’ll have plenty for 2 dinners and at least one lunch, maybe even 2 lunches since they are so filling!  I just love these enchiladas.  You’ll leave the table feeling so great after eating them!

Now go make them!!

Two Bean and Corn Enchiladas
Makes 10 enchiladas

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 green pepper, diced
1 red pepper, diced
1/4 red onion, diced
2 jalapenos, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 1/2-2 cups frozen corn
1 can Rotel Original
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
2 cans enchilada sauce of your choice
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
10 whole wheat tortillas
Shredded Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheese (we used about 1/2 an 8oz block of each)

Start off with sauteing the peppers in the oil in a deep skillet over medium heat.  Cook for about 5 minutes, until the peppers start to soften.  Add the red onion and corn and saute for another few minutes.  Toss in the garlic and saute for just a minute.  Then add the beans and Rotel and stir to combine everything.  Add the seasonings and just 1/2 of one can of the enchilada sauce.  Don’t use anymore than that because you’ll need it for other stuff!  Ok, so mix that all together and cook for a few minutes until everything is hot.  I like to add a handful of cheese to the filling just for a little something extra.  If you choose to do this as well (which I highly recommend, go ahead and do that at this point.  It won’t take long to melt)

Time for assembly!!  Preheat oven to 375.  Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray.  Pour the rest of the 1/2 can of enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and spread out.  Heat up your tortillas in the microwave for about 20 seconds until the tortillas are soft and pliable.  Spoon about 1/2 cup of filling in the middle of the tortilla.  I’m not exactly sure on this measurement, as I just use a large cooking spoon, but I think about 1/2 cup is close.  Fold one side of the tortilla over the filling and then fold the other side over.  Place folded side down in the pan.  Repeat with all remaining 9 tortillas.  I have found that sometimes I make less than 10 and sometimes I make more than 10.  It just depends on how much filling you use!  Once all your enchiladas are in the pan, pour the other whole can of enchilada sauce over all of them.  Then top with the shredded cheese.

Place in the oven and bake for about 15 minutes.  It doesn’t have to be in there long because you already cooked everything else.  You just need it in there long enough for the cheese to get gooey and melty.  Remove from the oven and let it sit for a couple minutes, as it’s hard to dish up straight out of the oven.  So, let it sit for about 5 minutes and then serve!!

