Well, it’s Sunday night and I’m pretty much flat out of brain power.  I cannot for the life of me think of what we should eat for dinner this week, so instead of researching meal ideas, I’m just going to write about a meal I made earlier in the week.  Do you ever get in those moods where nothing sounds good?  Except for maybe some nacho cheese and Wholly Guacamole… and lobster mashed potatoes from that really expensive restaurant you went to 3 years ago… and anything from Thanksgiving dinner… or that filet crusted with peppercorns from your anniversary dinner at another really expensive restaurant 2 years ago….

I think I’ll stop now.

Anyway, I think we actually ate this meal last week.  To be honest, with as much as we have had going on, all the days seem to blend right together.  Most of my time has been spent working from 4am-12pm,  running errands, cleaning the house, cleaning out my closet, taking stuff to Goodwill, making lists of stuff I need for vacation, reorganizing all the stuff on our kitchen counters, taking naps (because anyone who works that early earns a nap), and then just doing random things that somehow take so much more time than you think they should… anyway, enough of the pity party.

I had gotten the idea for this meal from Whole Foods’ website again, however, their recipe was much more involved.  I wanted to change it into something simple and quick and that required only a few ingredients rather than a list of 15.  It turned out super well, minus the fact that I got a little carried away with the garlic.  I love meals like this that are easy and can be thrown together at the last minute and use ingredients that most people already have at home.

It only requires some spinach pasta (you could substitute regular pasta, but I think the spinach is best for this dish), fresh spinach, canned artichokes, some olive oil and a clove of garlic.  Easy enough!  It takes hardly anytime to cook too because all you are doing is cooking the pasta (which spinach pasta takes only a couple minutes to cook) and essentially warming up the veggies in a pan.  There are a few dishes involved, but if you convince your hubby to do them, you won’t have to worry about how many dishes there are.

This is a great, fresh, summery meal that anyone can make in a jiffy (haven’t used that phrase in a good 6 years).  You only need about 20 minutes start to finish and that includes chopping the garlic and cleaning the spinach.  It’s a light meal but you still leave the table feeling satisfied.  This could make an excellent side dish to a piece of grilled salmon or chicken, but I think it was great as a meatless main dish!

Fresh Spinach and Artichoke Pasta
Makes about 4 servings, depending on how much pasta you use

1 can of quartered artichoke hearts, drained
Couple handfuls of fresh spinach leaves, rinsed and big stems removed
1 clove of garlic, finely chopped (I used 2 bigger ones and it was just too much for me)
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
A few handfuls of spinach pasta (I have no clue how much I used as I just dumped whatever was left in the package, just make enough for whoever is eating it and then leftovers)

Cook pasta according to package.  Drain and set aside when fully cooked.

In a large saucepan or deep skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the garlic.  Cook for a couple minutes, being careful not to burn the garlic.  Add the artichokes and saute for a few minutes.  Add the spinach leaves and toss only for a minute, then stir in the pasta.  Serve and enjoy!

