I’m an Alfredo sauce lover.  I have used the same sauce recipe forever that came from my mom.  It’s dependable and always delicious.  However, last week, when I decided I wanted to make Alfredo sauce, I had waited till the last minute to find the recipe, only to realize I didn’t have it written down.  Crap.  It was right around dinner time and I didn’t want to bother my parents because they were probably eating, so I jumped on the internet and searched “Alfredo Sauce” in all of the food blogs I follow.  I stumbled upon this recipe that came from Annie’s Eats.  And… woah… was it good!

I did make some changes because I didn’t want to use all heavy cream like the recipe calls for.  I can’t justify being that unhealthy when we are pairing it with spinach pasta and plain grilled chicken.  It was too much for me to bear.  I hate eating meals that lead me to feel guilty for at least the rest of the night, if not the whole next day.  So I used Half & Half and skim milk!  And threw in a little flour to help thicken it.  And it worked!!  It was super creamy, super delicious and super NOT horribly fattening!!  I was so excited!

I love Alfredo sauce because it’s such a simple sauce that you can pair it with a lot of different things!  For instance- spinach pasta!  I love spinach pasta and we were lucky to have gotten this giant bag from my mom for a random treat that she does quite frequently. My new favorite thing is getting fresh pasta from the farmer’s market on Saturday mornings, and I think any one of the pastas would go great with this Alfredo sauce.  You don’t have to be boring and use just plain pasta!  I swear!

Anyway… this is, as I always say, a fantastic, quick meal.  You could make the pasta and sauce as a side dish to any meat, but I liked throwing the grilled chicken on top.  Let’s face it, anything covered in this Alfredo sauce will be wonderful.  It’s a really quick sauce to make too.  I actually finished it way before the chicken was done grilling, that’s how quick it is!  Anyway, you could make this for a Meatless Monday (without the chicken of course), that could be good too!  This is a great meal to add any of the meat of veggies you like to make it your own!

Spinach Fettuccine Alfredo with Grilled Chicken
Adapted with healthier changes from Annie’s Eats.
Makes about 4 servings if you are like me and don’t cook enough pasta.

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
3 tablespoons butter
1-2 tablespoons flour
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 cup Half & Half
1/2 cup skim milk
1 1/2 cups finely grated Parmesan cheese

Cook the pasta according to directions on the package, when done drain and set aside.  Grill the chicken while waiting.  Add any seasoning, salt, pepper and grill until cooked through.  When done, slice and set aside.

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat.  Add the garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes, making sure to not burn it!  Add the flour and whisk for a minute until you basically cook the flour flavor out of it.  Add the Half & Half and milk.  Simmer while stirring frequently to avoid burning the milk on the bottom of the pan.  Cook for about 5 minutes, until the mixture thickens.  Add the Parmesan cheese.  Mix until melted.  Add the cooked pasta to the sauce and toss.  Serve on a plate with the grilled chicken on top!

Yum!

