I have a story to tell:

So one day I bought 6 bananas.  We only at 2.  I had 4 nasty, mushy bananas left.  So I made banana bread.

The End.

That is essentially all there is to these.  I bought a bunch of bananas and we didn’t eat them all and so I figured rather than wasting them, I’d make something with them.  I was going to make banana bread but then I decided I wanted to make muffins because they are so much easier to eat when you’re on the the run.  I made the right decision.  I just love muffins.

This recipe is from Joy of Cooking.  If you don’t have a Joy of Cooking cookbook in your home then there is something wrong with you.  I have my great grandmother’s version from oh so many years ago and then my mom gave me a newer version for Christmas or my birthday one year.  It was the first cookbook she gave me and it was an important one.  It has every conversion, every how-to and a recipe for just about anything you can think of.  This banana bread recipe has pretty much been the only recipe we ever bake in my family.  Every once and awhile my mom will make a different one, but this recipe is the go-to.  And it’s easy!

I love these muffins.  Like I said, they are great for when you’re running out the door because you are late for work.  And they even make a great afternoon snack!  If you decided to make it in a loaf pan, toasting the pieces and putting a little butter on them is incredible too!  Oh!  And this is a great way to use up all those old bananas that you overbought!

Quick Banana Bread
From Joy of Cooking
Makes 1 loaf or about 14 muffins

Preheat oven to 350.

Sift together: (you don’t actually have to do this, I didn’t and mine turned out just fine!)
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

Blend until creamy:
1/3 cup shortening (or butter.  I used shortening because I was too impatient to wait for my butter to thaw)
2/3 cup sugar
3/4 teaspoon grated lemon zest (I have never done this)

Beat in:
1-2 eggs (I used 2)
1-1 1/4 cups ripe banana pulp (I used all 4 bananas)

Add the sifted ingredients in about 3 parts to the sugar mixture Beat the batter after each addition until smooth.

Fold in:
1/2 cup chopped nuts, like walnuts or pecans

Place the patter in a greased bread pan or a lined muffin pan.  Bake the bread for about 1 hour, bake the muffins for about 30 minutes (check them though at 20 minutes to be sure!)

