Uh…. woah.  Have you ever planned to make a meal and were excited about it but you were a little worried because it was … different?  Yea.  That’s how I felt about this.  However, my mind was totally blown by this meal.  For reals.  I couldn’t believe something could be THAT good.  It was so good that we ate a whole 9×13 pan of this stuff in about 2 1/2 days.

Yea.  That says something.

There’s a chance you are thinking “uhhh Mexican?…  Lasagna?…. I’m not so sure about that…”  And I can completely understand that.  But you will be amazed when you make this dish by how, uh, well, amazing it is.  It’s cheesy, beany, little bit spicy, mexicany and pasta-y.  Yep.  It’s awesome.

And believe it or not, it’s crazy easy to make.  All you have to do is chop up a couple veggies, throw them in a bowl with canned tomatoes, beans, enchilada sauce, corn and some seasoning and then assemble the lasagna!  There’s no cooking the sauce, no messy ricotta cheese and you use the no boil lasagna noodles so it’s even easierrr!!

Now, you could definitely add some meat to this dish, or some shredded chicken, but I thought it was so great without that!  I found the recipe from a blog I follow, but I made some changes.  Mostly, I added an extra can of beans, a green pepper and a jalapeno and some enchilada sauce.  I was really pleased with these changes.  I felt that they made sense and I’ll definitely make it the exact same way when I make this next (because I will make this again).  But like I said, you could brown up some meat or get a roasted chicken from the store and shred it and add it to the filling mixture.

…But then it wouldn’t count for Meatless Monday …. sooo…. do as you wish. 😀

Anyway, make this meal as soon as you possibly can.  I mean it.  It will literally be the only thing you want to eat for 5 days straight.  But then you’ll run out.  It’s ok though, you can always make more.

Mexican Lasagna
Adapted from A Couple Cooks with changes
Makes about 8 servings depending on size of your servings

About 9-12 “no boil” lasagna noodles (you might want more or less depending on how you assemble your lasagna)
1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 green pepper, diced small
1 large jalapeno, diced small
1 1/2 cups frozen corn
1- 28oz can of diced tomatoes
3 green onions, chopped
1 handful of cilantro, coarsely chopped
1 can of enchilada sauce
8 oz shredded cheese (I used a mixture of Monterey Jack and Medium Cheddar)
Hot Sauce
Garlic Powder
Oregano
Salt and Pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Chop the green onions, green pepper, jalapeno and cilantro.  Toss into a large bowl.  Add the beans, corn, tomatoes, half the can of enchilada sauce, a few dashes of hot sauce and sprinkle in some of the garlic powder and oregano.  Mix all the ingredients together, add seasoning as needed along with the salt and pepper.

In the bottom of a 9″ x 13″, pour the rest of the enchilada sauce and spread around.  Add a couple spoonfuls of the filling mixture too and spread around.  Place 3-4 lasagna noodles down.  Cover the noodles with 1/3 of the filling mixture.  Cover with 1/3 of the shredded cheese.  Add the next layer of lasagna noodles and repeat the filling and cheese.  Add the last layer of lasagna noodles an then cover with filling and cheese.

Pop in the oven and bake for about 30 minutes, covered with foil.  Remove the foil at the end of that 30 minutes and bake for another 5-7 minutes until the cheese starts to brown.

Serve and good grief… enjoy!

