Have you ever been so tired that you can’t bring yourself to lay on the couch and type up a few paragraphs about some food you made last week?  No?  That doesn’t happen to everyone?  Oh.  Well… uh that’s how I feel.  But, you’re in luck!  I have decided to essentially bribe myself to write a post today.  What’s my bribe you ask?  Oh… it’s a nap.  Yep.  A nap.  Because I have found that even though I have slept more than my fair share yesterday and last night, going to Target with sore muscles and coming home to take care of the dogs and get lunch with my hubby (today is our 4 year dating anniversary!) is quite exhausting.  So don’t count on this post being super insightful or filled with some crazy facts, or really just don’t expect much out of me.  That’s what I’m trying to get across.

Now don’t panic… a post regarding the Tough Mudder will be coming.  I just don’t have all the photos yet.  Once I get those, I’ll be sure to dedicate a good, long post for all of you to read about my experience.  Note: I DID FINISH IT!!!!!!!!  I’ll just share the details soon!

As for this meal…Black Pepper Chicken… Have you ever had it?  It’s one of my favorites to get when we go to Panda Express (which, let’s be honest, it’s very frequently.  I think I had it for the first time in months a couple weeks ago).  I’m a huge pepper fan.  I put an almost obnoxious amount of it on my steaks and well, I can’t think of anything else I really put a lot of it on, but I like pepper.  So this peppery chicken is really, right up my alley.

Depending on how carried away you might get with the pepper, it can have a real kick to it.  If you are like me, and just use the pepper grinder without measuring how much you put in, chances are, the pepper will slightly over power the whole dish (what can I say?  Sometimes I don’t like to measure).  Had I put in a little less, we would have been able to taste a little bit more of the other flavors coming from the green pepper, onion and the soy sauce.  Oh well.  I learned my lesson.  By no means was it bad, I just know that it could have used a little bit less than what I put in there.  Again… it might have helped if I actually measured it.  But whatever.  It’s a really great dish with lots of flavor.  I can tell you that we will for sure be eating it again!

And that’s all I have to say about that.

Black Pepper Chicken
Adapted from Rasa Malaysia (my quantities are just a little different because I used more chicken than she did)
Makes about 4 servings

1 pound chicken breast, cut into thin slices
1 small onion, sliced
1 green pepper, sliced
4 tablespoons soy sauce (divided)
1-2 teaspoons of freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon sugar
2 tablespoons oil

Marinate the cut chicken in 2 tablespoons of soy sauce for about 10 minutes.

Heat the oil in a non-stick skillet or a wok.  Add the onion and stir fry for a minute or two and then add the green pepper and black pepper.  Cook for another few minutes until the veggies start to soften a little.  Add in the chicken.  Stir until the chicken is cooked through.  Add the remainder of the soy sauce and sugar.  Cook for another few minutes until veggies reach the desired texture (I like mine still a little crispy!).  Serve and enjoy!

