Hello strangers!

I would like to start off by saying the following 2 statements:

  1. It’s hard to write a blog post when you are busy watching a puppy’s every move.
  2. It’s also hard to write a blog post when you have no internet due to that puppy chewing on your internet cable out in the backyard.

Phew… Ok, I’m glad I got that off my chest.  I’ll just leave those 2 sentences be so you can sit and ponder them for awhile and think about what they truly mean.  I’ll give you a  hint: puppies are like babies, only worse (maybe, I don’t know yet).

On to the important stuff….  I have a whoping like 7 posts to catch up on and since I came home early from work today and I’m not working tomorrow so that I can mentally prepare myself for climbing through mud, jumping in dump trucks filled with ice, climbing wooden walls, running through mud, getting shocked by electrical wires and everything in between all of that…. I should be able to catch up on a few posts!  Woo hoo!

This was an incredibly easy meal.  And it was much better than I expected it to be.  I originally got the idea for it when I saw this recipe a few weeks ago.  But when it came down to it, it seemed FAR more complicated than it really needed to be.  So what did I do?  I used some of the same basic ingredients but simplified it by a TON.  You can thank me later.

Have I told you that we love artichokes?  I can never remember.  If I haven’t said that, well, then this is news to you.  If I have said that, well, then it’s old news and get over it.  Ok.  So we love artichokes.  And I’ve learned that artichokes go really well with pasta!  So when I found that recipe, I got really excited to try something new.  But like I said, it was just too complicated.  I wasn’t in the mood for cooking fresh artichokes, because quite frankly, they require a lot more work than opening up a can and draining it (sorry, but sometimes I get lazy).  I also can’t stand lemon in savory dishes.  Yuck.  If I eat anything lemon, it better be in a dessert or in my iced tea or water.  So before I even made it halfway through reading the recipe, I knew I wasn’t going to follow it.  Me version is so much simpler.  All it requires is pasta, canned artichokes, garlic, butter and white wine.  Yep!  It really doesn’t get easier than that.

(MMMmmm butter!!  Doesn’t butter just make everything a little bit better!?)

And like I said, it’s so delicious.  All the flavors really go together and compliment each other.  And the wine really brings it over the top.  I chose to use a Chardonnay, technically recipes say “white wine” but I get so irritated because there are a million white wines!  But I asked Brad what he thought would go best and he suggested Chardonnay.  I do think it went perfectly with the garlic and artichokes.

I’m not kidding, this meal is super quick and super easy and it will really surprise you because it is that good.  It’s perfect for a summer day when you don’t want to spend all evening cooking in the kitchen.  It’s also a perfect meal to enjoy sitting out on your porch sipping your wine next to your hubby.  Perrrrrfection!

Artichoke Pasta
Very loosely based on this Tasty Kitchen recipe
Makes 4 smaller servings

2 cans quartered artichoke hearts, drained
2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
3 tablespoons butter, separated
1/2 cup Chardonnay, maybe more if you’re feeling wild
1/2 pound pasta
Parsley for garnish

Cook pasta according to directions on package. Drain and set aside.

In a large saucepan, or a deep skillet, melt 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter.  Add the chopped garlic and saute for just a minute or two.  Be sure not to burn the garlic!  Add the white wine.  Let it simmer for a few minutes, then toss in the artichokes.  Stir and simmer for another couple minutes until the artichokes are hot.  Add the pasta, mixing everything together and then add the last 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter.  Allow that to melt, stir the dish and serve with chopped parsley!  Soo easy!!

