Ok.  So there’s this Thai restaurant, Siam Square, that’s downtown Indy and it is AMAZING.  We’ve eaten there twice but I’m not kidding, there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about their incredible food.  I get these week long Thai cravings because of that place.

Having only been there twice though, we haven’t gotten to really experiment a whole lot.  Both times we’ve gone, Brad and I have ordered the same dish.  He gets Pad Thai, I get Pad Seuw.  I had no idea what it was, I had never had it before, but after reading the description I was sold.  Pan fried noodles with green vegetables and garlic and your choice of meat??  Ohhhh yes please!  It was so incredible the first time, that I couldn’t bear the fact of not getting it again.  It will be hard to order something different every time we go.

(Uhhh… Biggest cloves of garlic up there.  A little freaky)

Here’s the thing about Siam Square.  It’s awesome, yes.  But when you have two dogs to pay for, groceries, a house, and all the bills involved with that… going out to dinner adds up.  So that’s why we’ve only been twice.  It’s not ridiculously expensive or anything, it’s just going there everyday isn’t really in our budget, nor is it in my plan to stay fit.  But to save a few bucks, I decided I was going to attempt to recreate it at home!

I searched and searched and searched for recipes online and finally narrowed it down to two. They were pretty similar but had a few differences, so I was able to combine the two to create our version.  It’s a relatively easy meal to make, but there’s a lot of put this in a hot pan, then take it out, then put this in the hot pan, and take it out and then put this in the hot pan with the other stuff and then take it out…. It was definitely a meal that I wanted to try on a night that I didn’t get home at 6:45.

Now, all the recipes I found called for Chinese Broccoli.  Here’s some information for you… I’ve never been to an Asian market, or even a Mexican market.  Nope.  I’m too scared.  Scared only because I’m certain I’ll look like an idiot trying to find my way around, trying to find ingredients that I’m not familiar with and trying to act like I know exactly what I’m doing.  When I totally don’t.  So instead, I got regular broccoli annnnnd bok choy!  I’m somewhat certain that Siam Square uses this combination, or at least the broccoli, but I figured bok choy would go well, which it definitely did.

While this wasn’t spot on like the dish I get at Siam Square, it was still delicious.  I couldn’t find wide rice noodles, so I had to go with whatever Kroger had, which were pretty thin ones.  And I also didn’t want to spend $7 on a bottle of dark, thick soy sauce when I have a brand new bottle of regular soy sauce at home.  Basically, I made some compromises, which is why, I’m guessing, the dish didn’t turn out quite as well as the restaurant.  But it’s ok.  Like I said, it was still really good, just not as amazing and life changing as I expected.  I’d definitely make it again… maybe next time I’ll overcome my fear of foreign food markets.

Maybe.

Pad Seuw
Adapted from RasaMalaysia and ChezPim
Makes about 4 servings

1/2 lb wide rice noodles (as wide as you can get.  Also, the original recipe called for a full pound, I found this was WAY too much)
2 large chicken breasts, sliced into bite sized pieces
1-3 cloves of garlic depending on size, finely chopped
6-8 total tablespoons of low sodium soy sauce, split
3 baby bok choy, rinsed and sliced long ways
About 1 cup broccoli
1-2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 teaspoons sugar
2-3 eggs
Fresh ground pepper
Sriracha Sauce and pickled jalapeno peppers for serving (optional)

Soak the rice noodles in water according to directions on the box.  You’ll want to use the directions for pan frying (which is basically soak in warm water for 45-60 minutes, drain and use).  Heat the vegetable oil in a skillet (or wok, if you have one) until hot.  Toss the bok choy and broccoli until browned and a little tender.  Be careful, oil will splatter!  Remove from pan and reheat the leftover oil (or add a bit more if needed).  Once the oil is hot again, add the drained noodles into the pan with a couple tablespoons of soy sauce.  Stir fry for a few minutes until the noodles start to brown a little.  Add more oil if the noodles start to stick to your pan.  Once browned, remove from the pan and set aside.  Next, reheat the skillet again and add the chicken and garlic and saute until cooked through.  Push the chicken off to the sides of the pan and crack the egg in the middle.  Stir.  Once the eggs have scrambled, stir in with the chicken.  Add the veggies and noodles to the pan, along with the remaining soy sauce, sugar and pepper.  Stir fry for a couple minutes until everything is reheated and veggies are tender and chicken is fully cooked.

Serve in a bowl with Sriracha sauce and chopped up picked jalapenos, if desired.  Enjoy!

