Eba-whaaaa?

E-bel-ski-vers!  Ever had ’em?  No?  Have any idea what they are?  No?  Allow me to introduce you to a whooole new world.

So this morning (yes, I was so excited about these that I am posting them the same day I made them), after we got back from our morning run (I swear, it never gets easier), I was sitting on the couch in our library talking to Brad while he was on his computer.  I was looking at some of the books on our bookshelves and stumbled upon an ebelskivers cookbook that I got for my birthday a couple years ago.  I started thumbing through it and said something to Brad about needing to make some soon because I have this book and a special pan for them, but I never make them.  I put the book back and didn’t really think anything of it.

But then I walked into the kitchen, looked at the clock and realized I had a good 2 hours before I would have to leave for work.  That was more than enough time to shower, get ready AND make ebelskivers!!  Woo hoo!!  And so, on a Wednesday morning, before work, I made ebelskivers!

Have you ever been to Williams-Sonoma?  I love that store.  I feel like a kid in a candy store every time I walk in there.  I have to admit though, they have a lot of fancy gadgets that I am never a fan of.  Usually I’m pretty old school when it comes to cooking (it’s my dream to have copper pots and pans).  I don’t need a fancy margarita maker, I have my own recipe that makes perfect ones.  I don’t need some fancy coffee maker, a French press works better (I actually don’t drink coffee at all, Brad does, so I’m basing this off of him).  I don’t need some ridiculous food processor with 20  buttons when mine with 3 buttons does everything I need it to.  I don’t need an electric cheese grater (wait, do they make those?), the one I use by hand is good for me!  *Side note*- I’m really proud of when Brad and I registered for our wedding.  We didn’t go overboard like most people do.  We registered for what we knew we would use and that was it.  I truly think that’s the way to do it.  Getting a whole bunch of extra stuff just seems wasteful to me.  End of side note*  Ok… do you get the point?

However, these fluffy, pillowy, cute little mini pancakes… I fell for.  My mom and I were walking through Williams-Sonoma one day while out shopping and we saw this cookbook and pan for ebelskivers.  Uh… what is that?  After I did some looking through the cookbook and realized what they were, I knew I was in trouble.  So what happened?  My mom bought it for me as a birthday gift.  Let me tell you, the look on my dad, my brother and Brad’s faces were priceless.  They thought it was so funny that I would want something like that for my birthday.  I’m fairly certain Brad is happy I have it now though, he ate a good plateful of them this morning!

Ebelskivers are, as I said above, mini pancakes.  However, just like pancakes you can get crazy and make them all sorts of different ways.  You can make them sweet or savory, with chocolate chips in them, with poppy seeds in them, with taragon leaves on top, with salmon in the middle…. But you can make them plain.  And pour maple syrup on them.  And that’s the way they are best.

These are definitely not something you can just wake up one morning and decide you want to make.  That is, unless you have the proper pan for them.  I can’t think of any other way you could make these without this pan.  Also- they aren’t super quick to make.  You have to mix all the dry ingredients, and then the wet ingredients and then mix them together and then you have to whip the egg whites and fold them in and then you can only cook 7 of the little suckers at a time.  No… they are not quick.  But they are worth it.  You can find the pan on Amazon for anywhere between $15-$50.  Williams-Sonoma still has them as well.  There are also cookbooks out there (the one I have is great, it has a huge variety of recipes!), that are extremely helpful.

I know these are different and may not be practical for everyone, but I thought it would be fun to show something different.  They really are delicious and honestly, now that I have rediscovered the cookbook, I might actually make them more often!  They are just so fun!  And cute!  And tasty…. Yea…. I’ll definitely make them again!

Ummm by the way… I love this photo up here.  Just sayin.

Vanilla Batter Ebelskivers
Taken word for word from Ebleskivers by Kevin Crafts
Makes about 21 pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs, separated
1 cup whole milk (I only had 1% and it worked just fine!)
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Maple syrup for serving

Special Equipment:
Ebelskivers Pan
Toothpicks or wooden skewers

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  In a small bowl, lightly whisk the egg yolks, then whisk in the milk, melted butter, and vanilla extract.  Add the yolk mixture to the flour mixture and, using a wooden spoon, stiry until well blended.  The batter will be lumpy.

In a clean bowl, using an electric mixer on high speed, beat the egg whits until stiff, but not dry, peaks form.  Using a rubber spatula, fold about 1/3 of the egg whites into the batter to lighten it, then fold in the rest just until no white streaks remain.  Use the batter right away.

Heat your ebelskivers pan on the stove on medium-low heat.  Spray with cooking spray, or butter.  Using an ice cream scoop or a cookie dough scoop, pour in about 2-3 tablespoon of batter.  Cook the first side until bubbles rise from the centers of the pancakes and they are lightly browned and crisp on the bottom, 3-5 minutes.

Position 2 short wooden wooden skewers on opposite sides of a pancake, slide the tips between the edge of the well and the cooked edge and lift and rotate gently.  Repeat and turn the remaining pancakes.

Cook the second side of the pancakes until lightly browned, about another 3 minutes.  Use the skewers to transfer to a plate.  Top with maple syrup and eat until you can’t stuff yourself with anymore.

