Welp.  Race Weekend is over.  OVER.  I feel confused sitting here on the couch NOT at the track.  I woke up this morning thinking about what we needed to take to the track, only to realize… oh wait, the race is over.  It’s a tragedy.  It is every year.

Rather than writing posts about food, I’ve been drinking too much of these and oh gosh…. these.  And thrown in between them both, was beer.  Needless to say, Brad and I will be taking part in some sort of detox this week.  No alcohol and we’re sticking to healthier food instead of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, Cheetos and Doritos (hey, we only eat that stuff at the track).  Anyway… I’ve been busy with other things and therefore have been slacking.  But let’s be honest, do you really want to read something I wrote after a couple mojitos and a beer or two?  I think not.

Onward. . .

We made these burritos sometime last week, possibly for Meatless Monday but the whole beginning of the week is a blur due to my anxiousness for the weekend.  They are terribly easy to make and even more delicious than I expected.  I was totally guessing on making these too.  I didn’t have a recipe or any idea what quantities I should use for any of it.  I just went for it.  So just be aware that in the recipe I write down below, I’m guessing what I used.  Because, of course, I didn’t bother measuring anything.  Way to go me!

These burritos are awesome for Meatless Monday or just any day of the week.  They are definitely filling and if you add the right amount of seasoning, they have a little kick to them and it’s great for a night that you don’t feel like messing with cooking meat but still want something that fills you up..  I cheated and used prepackaged Spanish Rice (because it’s soooo much easier) but if you felt like getting crazy, you could try this recipe instead (but beware, it makes a ton).  I used Uncle Ben’s Spanish Rice that comes in the packet that you stick in the microwave.  It’s tasty and super quick, so if you’re in a hurry, I recommend using that.  This is absolutely a recipe we will be making again.  And again.  And probably again.

Black Bean and Spanish Rice Burritos
Makes 2-4 burritos depending on size of tortillas you use

1- 14.5oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 package of Spanish Rice
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2-1 teaspoon chili powder (obviously, use less if you don’t want it so spicy)
1/4-1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (skip if you don’t want it spicy)
Salt
2-4 flour tortillas, any size you want to use, small, medium or big!
1 tomato, diced
Lettuce, shredded cheese, sour cream, hot sauce, salsa, and/or whatever else for garnish

In a saucepan, heat black beans with cumin, chili powder, garlic and cayenne pepper.  Mix and add any salt if desired.  Cook rice according to directions on package.

Warm up your tortilla in the microwave for about 15 seconds.  Spoon on some black beans, followed by the rice.  Drizzle on hot sauce if using (we like Cholula).  Sprinkle with lettuce, tomato and other toppings.  Roll up and eat!

