Oh lordy… it has been a chaotic few days at this house.  Brad has been out of town which has left me to take care of the little devils (that is… Etta and Cash).  So I haven’t had much of a chance to quietly sit down and write a post.  But I figured while there’s calm before the storm (storm meaning the whole routine I have to go through before I leave for work) I might as well try to squeeze a post in.

I wasn’t 100% sure what to call this meal, Salmon with Avocado and Orange Salsa was the best I could come up with at the moment (my brain is only functioning at probably 50% and quite frankly, I think it’s shocked that words other than “Cash NO” are formulating).

We have had this meal before and every time we have it I fall more in love with it.  It seems so strange to eat a piece of salmon with a spoonful of, essentially guacamole, but with oranges, but it is one of the better things I have ever tasted.  I originally found the recipe for this from Martha Stewart (I just realized that she calls it an orange avocado salsa too!) and we made that whole thing one night.  But it didn’t take long for us to realize that grilled bok choy is… uh… kind of gross.  I have also altered the recipe a bit because I don’t think it’s necessary to have sesame oil in the salsa.  Nor do I add salt and pepper.  But we’ll get to what I do in a minute….

If you are a salmon lover, this recipe is totally for you.  Wait, if you are a salmon AND guacamole lover this recipe is definitely for you.  You will be very surprised at how well this all goes together.  It is so fresh tasting that it just feel like summer in your mouth (no really, it tastes like that).  I like to make sure to get a little bit of everything in every bite.  Little bit of salmon, orange, avocado, cilantro and a tiny bit of red onion.  It’s amazing how it melds together so well.

Oh and thank god it’s starting to be corn season.  Well… at least close to it.  We’ve been craving grilled corn since, uh, November.

Try this recipe, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!  Oh and it’s a great weeknight meal because it is super quick.  You’ll see when you read the directions!

Salmon with Avocado and Orange Salsa
Feeds About 2

2 salmon fillets (whatever size you prefer)
1 avocado, pitted and diced
1/2 lime, juiced
1 handful cilantro, coarsely chopped
1 orange, peeled and diced
1 tablespoon red onion, chopped

Grill your salmon fillets until cooked through.  Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine diced avocado, cilantro, orange, red onion and lime juice.  Taste to make sure there’s enough lime in there, add more if you would like.

When salmon is finished on the grill, place on a plate and pour a few spoonfuls of the salsa over it.  Ta-Da!!

Told you it was quick!

