Well, I’m exhausted.  Now that it’s May and the track is open and there actually cars out there, we are spending as much time as possible sitting in the stands, getting sunburnt, watching cars drive 220 mph and accidentally getting drunk (there’s a chance I might have gotten super excited yesterday to be able to finally go to the track and so I might have gotten carried away with my margarita and beer consumption.  Only maybe though).  It’s actually a lot easier to get drunk out there than in pretty much any other situation.  It happens to the best of us.  Believe me.

It didn’t help (well, actually, it did help) that we brought along a reusable water bottle full of these bad boys.  Just like the mojitos, they creep up on you real quick and by the time you realize you’re in trouble… well, you’re about to be in more trouble soon.  But that’s the best part about these!  Other than being pretty much the best tasting margaritas ever, they make you feel real good, real quick (so don’t go drinking 5 of these in one sitting).


These came from my mom, but originally came from one of my aunts.  However, it’s a debate between who had the recipe first.  All I know is that I had my mom send me the recipe and she got it from one of them.  No matter where the recipe originated, you’ll be shocked at how delicious these are and also how simple they are!  No juicing limes for hours here!  Instead, you use 2 containers of frozen limemade!  Yep!  They really couldn’t be simpler to make.

They also last for quite awhile… but they go pretty quick during the month of May… I wonder why that is… But they are fantastic for summer holidays when you have friends and family over, they’re great  for cookouts, they’re great for bridal showers (I know from experience), but they are even better to just have stored in your freezer so when you come home from work one day and desperately need a margarita, they are there waiting for you!

These are great frozen (they are literally the only margaritas I like frozen), but they are just as good not frozen.  You can store them in a giant plastic pitcher with a lid on it either in the fridge or in the freezer.  They last for, what seems like, ever in the freezer, but I’m not so sure they would last so long in the fridge.  I highly recommend trying these frozen, but if that’s not your thing, then just leave them liquid!  They also travel well in a reusable water bottle that’s in a cooler with ice.  Meaning… they are perfect for the race!

Homemade Margaritas
If I had to guess, I’d say this recipe makes 6-8 large margaritas.  Don’t hold me to that though, I’ve never gone through a whole batch in one day.

7 cups of water
1 cup of Triple Sec
2- 120z containers of Limemade
750ml tequila (just over 3 cups)

Mix all ingredients in a pitcher.  Store in refrigerator or freezer (with a lid) and serve either over ice or spooned in a glass whenever you want!

No seriously…. that’s it!

