Ok… so I apologize for it being a whole freaking however many days since I wrote a post.  I think the last one I wrote was Thursday or Friday.  Allow me to explain what has happened….

Brad and I may or may not have adopted an 8 week old puppy.  Ok… we DID adopt an 8 week old puppy.  I have learned that having an 8 week old puppy is something like having a baby.  Only…. you have to take the puppy outside 50 times a day and walk it 7 times a day as well.  Oh and it barks and cries and pees on your floor.  And it drinks water by the gallon.  And it tries to eat everything in sight.  Babies don’t do any of that right? . . .

So as you can imagine, it’s a little hard to focus on writing a post when you have a miniature terrorizing tornado in your house running around chewing and peeing on everything and trying to play rough with Etta.  And that my friends, is why I haven’t written in a few days. Oh wait… he just peed on the floor.  Hang on.

Ok… deep breaths.

I have still been cooking though!  Nothing to worry about there!  In honor of Cinco De Mayo, this weekend we had Mexican!  Shocking!  We loaded up on margaritas, queso, guacamole, and southwestern egg rolls (that counts right?).  SO the next 3 posts after this will probably be Mexican related!  Yay!

We make guacamole probably once a week.  Wait, maybe once every 2 weeks.  The other week we make salsa.  They are our two favorite things to eat.  You really can’t go wrong with either.  Now, I know we all think we have the best recipe for guacamole, but I have news for you.  I actually do make the best guacamole.  So… sorry, but yours probably isn’t as good as mine.

It’s terribly simple too (simple is always best).  All that’s required are avocados, tomatoes, cilantro and lime!  That’s it!  And all of that seriously makes the best guacamole ever.  You have to keep in mind though that guacamole is always best right after you make it (that’s what I think anyway).  I won’t eat it the next day because it gets all gross and brown aannnnnd I don’t like it super cold.  Room temp is best for me!  So don’t go making batches of guacamole thinking it’ll last you for the week.  Because, well, it just won’t.  But you might eat it all anyway in one sitting, so I guess just make as much as you want.

Guacamole

2 ripe avocados (not too ripe because then they are nasty and brown inside)
1 small vine-ripe tomato (those are usually smaller)
1/2 – 1 whole lime, juiced
1 big handful of cilantro, stems removed

Cut the avocados in half and take the pit out.  Scoop the insides into a bowl and mash a little with a fork.  Finely dice the tomato and add to the avocados.  Add lime juice (start off with 1/2 of the lime.  I like a lot of lime in mine so I usually use a whole lime).  Coarsely chop the cilantro and add to the bowl.  Mix all together.  Some people add salt, but I think the saltiness of the chips is enough.  That’s it!  Dip your chips and you are ready to feast!

