I didn’t work yesterday.  Typically Thursdays are my off days.  (I love Thursdays).  Brad worked from home too so we got a lot done.  Laundry, gave Etta a bath, Brad cut the grass, we seeded some bare spots in the yard, we skipped our run (oops), I caught up on my tv shows, and I might have fallen asleep while cuddling with the dog… in bed.  It happens.

But when I woke up I had the most sudden urge to eat a peanut butter granola bar.  I don’t know where it came from, but what I did know was that I had to have one.  For those few minutes, nothing else really mattered in the world.  I just needed to get some peanut butter granola bars in my belly.  And so what did I do?  Oh… I made peanut butter granola bars.

I actually made these before like a month ago.  I found the recipe from Tasty Kitchen, but I learned the hard way that they burn pretty easily.  It was really depressing.  Rather than having peanut butter granola bars, we had peanut butter burnt granola.  I took photos and everything and opted to not post about them because I was too sad.  So this time, I was determined.  Those things were not going to burn on my watch.  I was able to snatch them out of the oven just as the edges were starting to get toasty.  Thank goodness.

These are by far the easiest granola bars I have ever made.  All you have to do is mix all the ingredients together, dump in a pan and bake for 35 minutes.  Seriously, it doesn’t get easier than that.  And they are unbelievably delicious.  These are perfect for breakfast on the run or a snack at anytime of the day.  They are sweet, but have the perfect amount of salty to satisfy any craving you have.  Better yet, slop some peanut butter on top and you will have pure peanut butter bliss in your hands… and eventually your belly.  Just as I had finished putting the mixture in the pan, I realized I should have put flax seed in there because I typically like flax seed in my granola bars.  I will definitely do that next time.  And I am totally making these for the race.  They will make the most perfect snack at the track.  I cannot even wait!

Peanut Butter Granola Bars
Adapted from Tasty Kitchen with some changes

3 1/4 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup honey
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.  Stir together all ingredients in a bowl until combined well.  Grease an 8 x 8 pan and pour the mixture in, patting everything down a little bit.  Bake for 35 minutes.  Keep an eye on it though, like I said, it burns easily.

Once cooled, flip out onto a cutting board and cut into desired sized bars with a sharp serrated knife.  Store in a Ziploc bag and top with peanut butter as you eat them.  You’re welcome.

